About Charles River Boathouses
The Charles River’s banks are dotted with boathouses, many of which are regarded as some of the city’s most important architectural gems.
2 Gerry’s Landing Road — The Cambridge Boat club is where you will find the head quarters for the Head of the Charles. Established in 1909, the club today has about 325 members.
134 Memorial Drive — The MIT Sailing Pavilion was the first building constructed for college sailing – in 1935. Today, it’s regarded as the birthplace of college sailing. Brandeis University, Northeastern University, Wellesley College and a number of high school teams all utilize the MIT Sailing Pavilion for their practices.
99 Memorial Drive — Regarded as one of the most scenic sites for a yacht club in the country, the Charles river Yacht Club has spectacular views of the Boston skyline from its docks and newly constructed rooftop deck. With 70 slips available to its members, the club also has public gas docks.
Located directly across from the private, coeducational day school, the BB&N boathouse stores the shells the school uses in its middle school and high school rowing programs.
5 Greenough Boulevard – The Belmont Hill and Winsor Schools, an all-boys school in Belmont, MA and an all-girls school in Boston, together use this boathouse to fulfill each of their student body’s rowing needs.
20 Cambridge Parkway – Founded in 1946, the Charlesgate Yacht Club is found in East Cambridge and the club boasts itself as the ‘gate’way to Boston Harbor from Cambridge and the Charles River.
409 Memorial Drive – The HW Pierce Boathouse of MIT was dedicated in 1966 and its indoor rowing tank was recently renovated. The boathouse stores more than 50 rowing shells.
619 Memorial Drive – One of the most stunning additions to the Charles’ collection of rowing facilities, the DeWolfe Boathouse of Boston University was constructed in 1999. The boathouse is situated at the starting line for the Head of the Charles.
967 Memorial Drive – The Weld Boathouse, donated by the George Walker Weld family in 1906, the boathouse was originally used by Harvard University’s freshman rowers. Today, the boathouse serves as the home base for Harvard’s female rowers as well as a number of recreational teams from the area.
736 Soldiers Field Road – The Newell Boathouse was built in 1900 and named after the University’s multi-sport athlete, Marshall Newel. The Harvard men’s rowing teams use the facilities two indoor rowing tanks to practice during the cold months.