Tour de France Jersey Classification

The Tour de France is divided into 21 stages, consisting of one individual time-trial stage, five hilly stages, six mountain stages with five high-altitude finishes, and nine flat stages. It’s third stage takes place through Cambridge, passing manyiconic landmarks. To see the route, click here.  To see a page about landmarks, click here.  Different color jerseys are awarded at the end of each stage.  Each color jersey has a different meaning; keep reading to find them out.  There are other prizes to the Tour de France, including a variety of amounts of prize money and an overall trophy.

Yellow Jersey (Maillot Jaune)

The yellow jersey or the maillot jaune is worn by whoever is in the lead of the Tour de France.  Pictured below is Bradley Wiggins, winner of the 2012 Tour de France.  After each stage, rider’s total times are calculated and the rider with the shortest time wears the yellow jersey in the following stage of the Tour de France.

[Click here to buy your own Yellow, Green, White and even Polka Dot Jersey] 

Green Jersey (Maillot Vert)

The green jersey or maillot vert goes to the rider with the most sprint points.  Points are earned by place of finish and difficulty of sprinting of a particular stage of the race.  Flatter stages of the Tour de France earn more sprint points than mountainous stages.

White Jersey (Maillot Blanc)

The white jersey or maillot blanc is awarded to the fastest Tour de France cyclist under 25 years of age.

White Jersey with Red Polka Dots (Malliot A Pois Rouges)

The white jersey with red polka dots or the maillot à pois rouges is often referred to as the King of The Hill jersey.  Riders are awarded points per level of difficulty based on steepness and length of the mountains in the race.