Cambridge University Tolkien Society

Cambridge University Tolkien Society | The Shire, Middle Earth

The Shire in J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth from The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Photo by Jeff Hitchcock

Widely known and admired throughout the world, J.R.R. Tolkien has produced a strong and growing fan base in Cambridge. As a result, Minas Tirith: The Cambridge Tolkien Society was created both as an independent society in Cambridge, and in association with Cambridge University.

Founded in 1983, The Cambridge Tolkien Society seeks to encourage Tolkien enthusiasts to learn more about and explore the works and life of Professor Tolkien. Minas Tirith, based in Cambridge, is only one of many smials, or local groups of The Tolkien Society, which has hundreds of members across the world. According to the official Tolkien Society website, all of the smials follow the society’s constitution and work together to create “an educational charity, literary society, and international fan club.”

Cambridge University Tolkien Society Activities

Cambridge University Tolkien Society

Explore the lands of Middle Earth by clicking on the image to buy The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and its prequel The Hobbit!

Throughout the year, Minas Tirith in Cambridge University hosts a number of activities ranging from annual feasts, seasonal meals, and trips, to occasional wine-tastings, language lessons, dramatic performances, and reading groups.

In addition to the regular activities organized by the Cambridge University smial of The Tolkien Society, Minas Tirith also publishes a society journal by the name of Anor. Anor releases new issues at an average of three times a year, and welcomes contributions both from students of Cambridge University, and outside of it.

Cambridge University Tolkien Society Membership

Annual membership for the Cambridge University Tolkien Society has a cost of £4, and a life membership can be purchased at a cost of £10. The treasurer of the society is known as Smaug and he or she can be contacted for further information about membership or other particulars.

In addition to Smaug, other official members of the committee are referred to as Captains of Gondor, and include The Steward (chairman), Keeper of the Red Book (secretary), Gwaihir the Windlord, Bill the Pony, and Quickbeam (social secretary).

For other student activities at Cambridge University visit our Cambridge University Student Activities page! is not associated with Cambridge University.