About Corpus Christi College
Corpus Christi College was founded in 1352 under the full name The College of Corpus Christi and the Blessed Virgin Mary. It is the only college at Cambridge founded by the townspeople or “The guilds of Corpus Christi and the Blessed Virgin Mary.”
Corpus Christi has roughly the second smallest undergraduate intake and began allowing women to attend starting in 1983. Among the top colleges academically, it is also one of the wealthiest at Cambridge University. It has fixed assets like silver, an endowment of £70 million, and building value of £116 million.
Students at the college refer to themselves as ‘Corpuscles’ and follow in the steps of notable alumni including 17th Century Archbishop of Canterbury Thomas Tenison and novelist Christopher Isherwood.
Corpus Christi Grounds
The main Old Court gains a unique audience in the spring as the college porters must deal with at least one duck laying her eggs in the flower boxes. After the eggs hatch, the mother duck walks her ducklings to the River Cam, but in order to make safe passage the college porters must stop traffic on Trumpington Street. Once they reach the gates at St. Catharine’s College in Cambridge, their porters oversee the remainder of the journey.
‘Corpus,’ as it is known, is located in the center of Cambridge in the old courts, with original 14th century architecture like the style found in the Parker Library. The library, established in 1376, finished digitizing their collection in 2010, making more than 200,000 pages available on the internet.
Corpus Christi College Contact & Location
Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1RH
Tel: +44 1223 338000
Fax: +44 1223 338061
Cambridge.com is not affiliated with the University of Cambridge.