About Cambridge Public Library
The main branch of the Cambridge Public Library, located in the heart of Cambridge, was originally finished in 1889.
In the past eighteen years, the city of Cambridge embarked on a campaign to restore and revamp the library. Finally, in 2009, the renovations and new addition were finished.
Are you looking to learn something new? Check out The Great Courses‘ online courses today. We highly recommend them!
Both the restoration of the historical Library building and the new addition were done by Boston design firms and architects. The historical building was restored back to its old 1889 look by Beha and Associates.
The lead designer for the new addition was architect William Rawn. Both took great care in making sure that the renovations and addition reflected the history of Cambridge, while bringing a modern feel to the library with the new glass façade of the addition.
Cambridge Public Library – Children’s Room
The historical building now houses the teen room, several banks of computers, and a large reading room that has been completely restored to give the room the feel it possessed when it first opened.
The WPA murals on the ceiling and walls have also been retouched, so they look just as vibrant as they did when they were painted in 1934.
The new Main Library building houses most of the library’s print collection, and has many large, open spaces for reading, using the computer, and relaxing in a calm learning environment.
The glass walls of the building allow tons of natural light to flow into the main rooms of the library.
The Main Building’s third floor is entirely taken up by the Children’s Reading room, where parents can bring their kids to use the library’s large collection of children’s literature, music, and movies.
[pw_map address=”449 Broadway, Cambridge MA “]