Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year

Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year

Take a look at the excitement rolling through Cambridge on January 29 with the Hasty Pudding Theatricals parade. Photo by TPapi

Golden Globe Award winning actress Amy Poehler already has a list of accomplishments sitting under her belt. Since graduating Boston College the bestselling author, comedian, producer, and director has already achieved a golden globe for her role in Parks and Recreations and is now being honored with another notable award, the Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year Award.

On January 29, 2015 the actress will be honored by receiving this title, given by Harvard’s Hasty Pudding Theatricals. The Woman of the Year award is one of Hasty Pudding’s oldest honors. Hasty Pudding, being the United States oldest theater organization (and third oldest in the whole world), in its own right has every entitlement and qualification to give out such a prestigious award.

History of Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year Award

Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year

Anne Hathaway was the 2010 Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year. Photo by Elise Amendola

Since 1951, this renowned award has been given to many worthy and talented actresses including Meryl Streep, Julia Roberts (one of my personal favorites), Jodi Foster, Elizabeth Taylor, Anne Hathaway, Claire Danes and last year Helen Mirren.

The judgment that went on behind the scenes regarding these actresses receiving their very own pudding pot was not misplaced and is absolutely on point is if I do say so myself.

Annually, one female and one male (the male will soon be announced) are chosen from the pool of well-known celebrities to receive this award. According to hastypudding.org, Amy Poehler, as well as the other actresses mentioned above, has been chosen for this award because of the lasting and impressive contributions she has made to the world of entertainment.

Pages: 1 2